university area commission

The University Area Commission (UAC) was established by Columbus City Council in 1972. According to Columbus City Code, Area Commissions afford additional voluntary citizen participation in decision-making in an advisory capacity and to facilitate communication, understanding, and cooperation between neighborhood groups, city officials, and developers.

The boundaries of the University Area are, starting at the Glen Echo Ravine and the Olentangy River, proceeding east along Glen Echo Ravine to the Penn Central Railroad, south on the Penn Central Railroad tracks to Fifth Avenue, west on Fifth Avenue to the Olentangy River, and north along Olentangy River to the Glen Echo ravine. The University Area is divided into four districts, each represented by three Commission members. See the district map page for details.

Standing committees of the UAC work on the areas of zoning, code enforcement, planning, communications, health/safety, and governance of the commission. The UAC also serves as a public forum for the discussion of community issues.

Visit the area commission webpage for more details: